100 happy days

I’ve seen quite a few people taking part in this “100 happy days” thing on Facebook. The idea is that every day for 100 days you have to do something that makes you happy/you like doing.

There is a website – http://100happydays.com/ where you can register to take part if you want to. You are supposed to take a photo of what makes you happy each day, and you can submit it to facebook, twitter, instagram etc. (Sadly there’s no option for WordPress!)

I think this would be quite a hard challenge. But it’s true – people don’t have time to enjoy the moments. It’s the small things in life that make you happy. It’s the way the birds sing, or the smile on your boyfriend’s face when they see you. It’s the mango icecream from the ice cream café, or the smell of freshly baked bread. We need to notice these things, because however bad things are, there is always some good in the world too, some little piece of happiness.

I am thinking about doing it. I haven’t decided yet whether to do it personally (just in my journal), on here, or through the actual 100 happy days thing… I think it would be hard to have a photo for every day, and I think I’d have to get Instagram to do it (I want to do it as Ellie so I can share my progress with you guys!)

I do think acknowledging the good things, stopping and being in the moment, does help happiness levels. And since I’ve been feeling pretty down lately, a way to feel happy is just what I need! Now to get the courage to start it!!

What do you think about the 100 happy days idea?

 

 

4 thoughts on “100 happy days

  1. Marja-Leena says:

    I’ve been doing it on facebook! At first I thought it was unrealistic because I misunderstood what it was saying. I thought it meant literally trying to be happy for 100 days, but then I realized it just means noticing the things that really make you happy – no matter how big or small. Which will hopefully, in turn, improve your overall mood.

    I do think it’s a skill that can be practiced, like anything. I think it’s important to work at focusing our attention on the little things that make us happy each day, even if we might be (like me) feeling severely depressed a lot of the time. I find it fun to do, and it does help me to realize that in every day there is something good, funny, relaxing, positive, etc. Sometimes it can be so small that it’s easy to overlook. Hi sorry I write novel-length responses to everything haha.

  2. Michelle says:

    Oh, this seems like a nice idea! My only worry would be that I’d get lazy and stop after a couple of weeks :S Maybe I’ll do it just for myself, like you’ve considered, so I don’t feel guilty/judged for missed days lol

    • anxiouselephant says:

      That’s a good idea Michelle 🙂 I have started doing it (yesterday) in my journal, and I’m planning to do a weekly post about it on here, because daily is too much commitment! haha

Leave a Reply :)

