New year’s resolution

Ok so it’s a bit late for this post, nearly 20 days too late, but oh well.

I’ve been away for a while, much longer than I expected. I got back to Germany to find a distinct lack of internet in my flat, so no elephanting around for me. It’s coming back tomorrow properly **excited dance.** (I’m currently stealing* the neighbour’s, but it’s very slow and sporadic because the router is obviously not in my flat.)

But back to the issue – new year’s resolutions. I don’t often bother really, I mean let’s be honest, most people have broken them by the end of the first week – if they even get that far!! (Well done to you if not!) But this year I made one, not on purpose though actually, and not on new year… It was in the first few days of January though so I think it still counts.

This year I resolved to do what makes ME happy. I want to live for myself, not anyone else. I want to do things because I want to, not because I’m expected to or because other people want these things. So it’s going quite well. It’s definitely an excuse to eat loads of rubbishy food, but there’s something else I want to do for me – I want to feel better about myself. And therefore I want to start doing regular exercise and eating better. This bit is still yet to start, so really not a new year’s resolution, but it all ties in. I’m trying to make myself happy.

It’s a really refreshing way to look at life, and I think it’s definitely a good thing. I’m not saying it’s good to be completely selfish because it definitely isn’t, but when you constantly do things to please other people, sometimes it’s good to do things for yourself for a change. I’m not going to be someone else though, I know I will still do things for other people, but that’s fine. It’s when you realise that everything you do is a massive façade that you have to change something. So I am, and I’m doing it. Life is good.

I haven’t read any blogs in a while so will be catching up when I have time. I’m quite busy at the moment as I’ve started doing some tutoring for students who struggle with English so will be catching up slowly.

Take care everyone, I hope 2014 is treating you all well.

Lots of love,

Ellie xxx

*well he said we could use it so not really stealing

Leave a Reply :)

