A good day

Today has been a long day, but also a good day. Today is Thursday, which is the day I do some volunteering at a day centre for people with mental illnesses. I also agreed to work this evening in the supermarket where I work so it was going to be a long day! Started at 9:30 this morning and didn’t finish until 9 this evening (other than a couple of hours between in which I had a nap!)

The volunteering went well, today we went for a picnic in the park and the ladies seemed to enjoy it (and so did I.) I am really enjoying my work there, gaining greater insight into how different mental illnesses affect different people, and just chatting to lots of different people. They are such a lovely group of ladies, and even though they all have their own stories and have been through various difficult things, they are all kind, friendly and full of life. It makes me really happy to see how they support each other and it also makes me realise I need to take a more positive approach to things sometimes.

After a lovely afternoon in the sun with sandwiches and games, I popped home for a bit for a nap and to get changed for work. Then it was off to the supermarket where I seem to spend so many hours of my life. Tonight I was on tills which I usually hate, but it wasn’t too bad. I had lots of nice customers and not many rude customers and the time went by reasonably quickly – this is the sort of shift I need more of!

I realised again today that I am feeling much more like me at the moment, like I said the other day. I have come so far from where I was, and even though things can still be hard at times, I am determined that I am not going to let things get bad again, I’m fighting this with everything I have. I’m feeling quite motivated at the moment, especially because my volunteering has reassured me about my future career hopes – I want to work in mental health, as a clinical psychologist eventually. I know it will be a long journey and it’ll be hard, and I know I need to get myself fully well before I can do it, but I am determined that I will do it! – I can and I will!

11 thoughts on “A good day

  1. Bourbon says:

    Aww Elle. I’m loving your confidence shining through this post!! (((Hugs))) for what it’s worth I think you will be fab working in the mental health field! Xx

  2. bpshielsy says:

    I’m really happy you’re feeling more like you. There’s nothing like the feeling of rediscovering yourself after a serious loss of confidence.

    Big yay & a woop for you x

  3. wellcallmecrazy says:

    Wow you sound great. I can feel the positive energy flowing from you through your writing. You are living proof that there is hope, that there is a light at the end of the tunnel, and that when you make a small shift it can really transform and heal you. Glad you had a good day…..keep on going!

Leave a Reply :)

