I did something for me

Today I was meant to be doing my volunteering and then working in the evening. This morning I woke up feeling completely exhausted and achy. I don’t know if it’s the weather or maybe I am just too run down and exhausted from doing too much… but I called in sick to my volunteering, and now I have until 5pm to sleep, relax and take time for myself. 

I feel guilty about it, as I physically could do the volunteering today. I feel bad for not going, like I’m letting people down. But to be honest, when I’m feeling like this I’m probably not much use to anyone anyway. Yes I’m tired and yes I’m achy but it’s not impossible to deal with. But something I’ve learned in the past is that if I keep going and going and going, eventually I burn out and that’s when things start to go really downhill. So today I am doing something for myself: nothing.

So now I’m going to watch the rest of Silver Linings Playbook (as recommended by MMS here!) and then I am going back to bed to catch up on sleep!

 

8 thoughts on “I did something for me

  1. bpshielsy says:

    Sometimes it’s better to look out for number one. If you burn out, you may not be able to do volunteer work for weeks or months. If you take a day off, it’s only a day.

    I loved Silver Linings Playbook!

  2. theglitteringdarkbird says:

    I think sometimes you have to look after yourself a little, even if that means doing something you perceive as letting other people down. I know from experience that other people mostly don’t see it that way, even though I feel like that in similar circumstances (I’m anxious too!) – and also that it’s much better to give yourself time to rest and relax if you feel run down than to carry on and risk feeling worse for a longer period of time. Take care, and I hope you feel better soon. xx

Leave a Reply :)

