Not safe

*possible trigger warning – it gets pretty negative.*

Every so often I seem to have these little panics…

I’m not safe. Nothing is safe. No one can keep me safe.

I have got too close to S and it scares me. He could leave like the ex did. Not safe. I caught myself thinking I should get away from him (S), I need to leave before he leaves, then it’s my fault choice. But Ellie you tried that one… you ended it before and felt worse than ever. 

I think maybe it’s about control. I can’t control how I feel and how I would feel if he left. I can’t control whether he leaves or not (that’s why I feel like I should leave first, then I’d be in control). 

I don’t know what is going to happen when I move to Germany. I can’t control it, I can’t plan it all. It’s new and big and scary. New language, new place, new people… What if I can’t handle it?*

It’s happened again… this downwards spiral. It was about one thing, and now it’s about EVERYTHING.

I just want to be safe.

I feel so low and I don’t really know why. Maybe I’m just thinking too much (as usual). When I feel like this I wonder if the progress I’ve been making is even real. My thoughts scare me. I just want to be safe, or at least I want control. I want it all to stop, it’s all too much. I want to die. I’m not safe here, how do I carry on? Sometimes I really think it would be easier if I wasn’t alive.** And the urge to hurt myself, punish myself for all this is strong. But it doesn’t help. I know it doesn’t help so why do I want to do it? It doesn’t solve anything.

*I know I’m not allowed to say “what if”, but I did anyway.

**Please do not read into this too much – these are thoughts and not plans, I know these feelings/thoughts will pass. 

8 thoughts on “Not safe

  1. Grace says:

    It’s devastating but true. If you see it realistically… nothing is safe. Such is life. Everything can always happen – but that doesn’t mean it will ultimately happen. Which means there is no point in freaking out over possibilities.

    Over time you*’ll be able to handle that truth. Also you do have a safe space even if it’s just imaginary. Maybe retreating to it for a while would help to stop the overwhelming thoughts?

    *hopefully me too.

    xx

    • anxiouselephant says:

      You are right Grace, I needed that rational explanation – thank you! I haven’t been doing any of the safe space/mindfulness things recently, I should probably start doing them again, maybe they were helping more than I realised! Thanks for reminding me of my safe space (although I’m struggling to get to it at the moment). And yes we will both get there eventually!! How are you doing? xx

Leave a Reply :)

