What is normal?

Today’s daily prompt: Is being “normal” — whatever that means to you — a good thing, or a bad thing? Neither?

This is one of those things I struggle with. Normal. What does that even mean? Is there even a such thing as “normal”? Is there an average of all people, and that is what normal is? Is normal a personal thing – what is normal for me? (which could be different from what is normal to you.)

I say the phrase often “I just want to be normal.” And by that I mean I don’t want to be depressed, overly paranoid, constantly on edge, I don’t want to doubt myself and everything I know, or wake up every morning wishing I hadn’t. None of that is “normal”. I want to be happy with normal things – normal grades should be good enough, but my perfectionist mind says NO, Normal is bad, average is bad. So I strive to do better, always.

So is normal good? Is normal bad? I’m not sure. I think really, the best thing is to be yourself. Because in reality, there’s no such thing as normal. That’s one of the nice things about humanity, everyone is different, individual, unique in some way. And if I was “normal”, then I’d just be a clone of everyone else, and what’s the point in that?

So maybe I’m not normal. I am disappointed with a B, I will run away if I hear the sound of wasps, and sometimes I scream in my sleep.* I push people away when they try to help me, and I have been known to suggest wheely chair races down the corridors at uni, and I have a serious obsession with elephants. But that’s who I am. And if I have to change who I am to be normal, well maybe being strange is more fun anyway.

*Last night I stayed at Twin’s** house, and in the middle of the night screamed and said “There’s people climbing over the wall!” while I was still asleep.

**Twin is a family friend who was born 3 hours after me in the same hospital and we have very similar names, so I call her my unrelated twin.

8 thoughts on “What is normal?

  1. MentalShep says:

    When I am in the most mental distress, all I say is, “But.. I just want to be NORMAL”.
    I think for me it means, “I need a bit of help right now”, or “I’m becoming ill”.
    I don’t think normal would suit me, whatever that is, it sounds entirely boring. If everyone was normal, we’d be all machine like, lacking identity.
    Excellent post and blog. Look forward to reading more! 😀

    • anxiouselephant says:

      I agree, we all want to be “normal”, but if we really were it would be really boring and rubbish! I guess when we say it what we mean is “I don’t want to feel like this.” Thanks for your comment, glad you enjoyed the post 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply :)

