What’s in a name?

Daily Prompt:

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

My real first name is something I am almost never called. My parents and everyone else have always called me the shortened version of my name. (It’s like if my name were Eleanor, but everyone calls me Ellie.)

I’ve asked my parents why they chose my name, and got a very boring answer. My mum said “your dad liked it.” No story behind it, nothing! And my middle name was chosen because my mum had a lot of friends with that name (not sure if this is true or a joke*).

As for my name here (Ellie) it was used by a certain blogging friend and then it caught on, so I kept it. Ellie the elephant fits quite well, as I originally started the blog as “anxious elephant”. And anyway, I really like the name Ellie. I think if I ever have a daughter I would like to call her Ellie, maybe. 

If I had the choice to have a different name, I’m not sure what I’d pick really! I would feel strange using a different name! It’s not really about the name though is it? It’s more about who you are; whether I’m using my real name or Ellie, I’m still me. 

Lots of love,

Ellie 🙂

xxx

*That this is the reason, not that my mum had a lot of friends with that name, she did/does!

9 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. My Mental Stream says:

    I was named after an famous author, but with a twist on my name. I would tell you the name but it would give away my real name as it is pretty uniquie. Hope you are well Ellie. Loce and hugs. PS Guess who is a little drunkizzle!! xx

  2. behindthemaskofabuse says:

    Ha! My parents had 5 girls names and 5 boys names picked out for me and then one day saw my name on a shirt label and that’s what I became. Then after I was born, my Grandfather (the good one) owned a shoe store and was very well known and respected. He named a pair of shoes after me.

    So..I’m a shirt and shoes…lol

  3. Grace says:

    They just picked my name because they liked it. And my second name was something my parents and sister agreed on… don’t ask me about my sister’s part in this.. but they always go “I always wanted to have a [insert second name]”… so that’s a rather uninteresting story I’m afraid.
    But remember my change from Juliet and Grace? I can’t get used to the name Grace, lol, and even when I refer to myself on wordpress I first type Juliet and then realize it’s now Grace… how weird is that, lol! (And I now of MMS (e.g.) that he doesn’t get used to Grace either…)
    I think your blog name Ellie really suits you though. How was your exam by the way? xoxo

Leave a Reply :)

