Feeling more like me

These few weeks are stressful time – exam season, when all students realise they haven’t done enough work all year and try to make up for it over a couple of weeks. I have done two exams now – cognitive last week and my german speaking today. Two down, four to go.

But the thing is, as much as I am hating revision and stressing, I also came to the realisation that I feel a lot more like me than I have done for a very long time. As I’m revising, I’m remembering why I chose psychology and german, I’m remembering that I like to learn, and I’m wishing that I had enjoyed learning it at the time (then revision would be a much easier process!)

That’s not to say that I’m not still having my moments. Today about an hour before my speaking exam I felt incredibly sick and could feel the anxiety bubbling up. But some fresh air, some water, deep breaths and reassurance from a good friend later – I did it. And no, it didn’t go perfectly, and yes – it could’ve been better. But maybe (just maybe) I’m finally realising that that is ok. It doesn’t need to be perfect. I did the best I could today and that’s all I can ask of myself. I could go over and over it in my head, analysing what I said wrong and where I used the wrong case or gender… but that won’t change it, so what’s the point?

Today it has been sunny in Lancaster (a rare sight!) It’s been such a beautiful day and at one point I realised that I’m definitely on my way to becoming me. I don’t really know who that is anymore, at the stage in life where people become themselves, I was being controlled by the ex. I lost all sense of who I was (am?) and I didn’t know what to do without him. Since then I’ve been so lost in darkness that I haven’t really figured out who I am, but now the fog is clearing and I’m realising – I can be who I want to be now. It’s my life, my choice and I’m never going to let anyone take that away from me again.

Talking of which, in summer 2014 it looks like I might be on an exciting trip! (I definitely wouldn’t have been allowed when I was with the ex!) A trip to Namibia, and guess what’s in Namibia?? That’s right… elephants!! 😀

Maybe it’s the revision making me crazy, but today I don’t have too much to complain about. Anyway, back to stats revision I go… (can you think of a more thrilling Tuesday evening?)

Lots of love,

Ellie

xxx

14 thoughts on “Feeling more like me

  1. Grace says:

    The trip to Namibia sounds very cool 😀 So awesome, hope it works out for you.
    And it’s so great to see your optimism about everything. You rock! xx

  2. Jasmine says:

    I WOULD TOTALLY GO TO NAMIBIA THAT SOUNDS AMAZING
    I understand the not being sure who you are but I’m glad you feel like you’re becoming you 🙂

  3. Christy@SweetandSavoring says:

    It’s so easy to get anxious during exam time; I’m right now, too. (In fact, I should be studying bio, but somehow reading this is more compelling. Ack!) Congratulations on getting through your German speaking exam, that’s impressive! I spent a few weeks in Germany and (embarrassingly) barely picked up any German at all- it’s the Romance languages that come easier for me.
    And Namibia! That’s amazing! Having travel to look forward to makes everything better.

Leave a Reply :)

