What if…

Today I’m having lots of “what if” thoughts. I think that’s called catastrophising, but whatever it is, it’s making me panic.

What if I can’t answer the question on my exam on Monday?

What if I fail the exam?

What if I fail my degree?

What if I can’t go into clinical psychology because my grades aren’t good enough?

What if I’m not strong enough to go into clinical psychology anyway?

What if I mess it all up?

What if I do all of this, and then I realise I don’t want to do it anymore?

What if I’m just useless and a failure?

What if…

What if…

The real answer is “then it happens”.

There’s nothing I can do about it now, and if it happens then I will have to deal with it.

It’s amazing how one little thought spirals out of control, until you’re questioning your entire being and the meaning of life!

Maybe I should spend less time panicking about “what if”s and more time revising… but that would be too sensible wouldn’t it? 😛

Back to the books I go…

13 thoughts on “What if…

  1. My Mental Stream says:

    Oh the theoretical world of “what ifs”. I live there, it is a horrible place, Run Ellie! Run like the wind far away from these lands to revisiontopia, where books grow from bushes and highlighters from the trees and the sun is actually a giant chocolate button which everyone can eat. YAAAAAAYYYYY
    Ok, I should calm down…

  2. Juliet says:

    Hätte, wenn und aber – alles nur Gelaber 😉 The German colloquial equivalent to what ifs – it is what the buddy always tells me. Love what Moose says!! What if you will be just fine? xx

Leave a Reply :)

