Strange happenings & arguments

It seems like every time I post something on my blog, something strange happens!

One time, I wrote about the ex, and the next day I received a message from him (despite not having heard from him for months before that!)

Yesterday, I wrote a cheerful post about things being a lot better… And then last night got very upset and ended up arguing with S, and today I’ve spent most of the day in bed and feeling down. 

It’s all very strange.

I know it’s not because I’ve written it. But it does seem that everytime I write that things are feeling a bit better, I end up feeling worse afterwards. 

Last night’s argument made me realise I still have a very long way to go before I’m “better”. I am insecure, scared and worry about everything. I read far too deeply into situations and I expect S to understand how I feel all the time, when of course he can’t. I struggle to keep up with it myself!

During this argument, it came to light that there are lots of underlying issues. And they are not issues with our relationship, but more about me (because of the ex). I am ridiculously insecure, and trust is very difficult. Even though S has never given me a reason not to trust him, I always imagine these “what if” scenarios, and I expect him to find someone else (like the ex did). 

He went out with his friends while I was away, and it was something he was planning to do when everyone was home, but he did it while I was away. I can’t help but see it as him not wanting me to be there. No matter how much he tells me that’s not true. Then it comes down to me thinking he’s embarrassed and ashamed to be with me, and that’s why he doesn’t want me there. The more I think about this, the more it snowballs until I’ve convinced myself that S is just going to hurt me (just like the ex did). 

They are not the same. They are completely different people. I need to remember that.

Not everyone treats people the way the ex did.

I find it very difficult not to blame myself for everything, and not to over-analyse every detail of everything. 

Recently S has said things that he hasn’t said before. Nice things, about wanting a future for us, and being in love with me. But for some reason it scares me. Because you can say the right words but it doesn’t make things work. The ex said all the right things, and treated me like crap. He made me feel like I was nothing, like I was lucky that he put up with me, and now that’s how I feel about myself. 

In my previous relationship, sex was a given. I guess I thought I had to, that it was his (the ex’s) right in a way. And sex was something I could give him, to make up for all the crap he had to put up with by being with me. Sex was how I learned to show love (that’s what my relationship with the ex taught me, anyway). But he didn’t love me. He said all the right things, but he hurt me and he used me. He made me into this mess, and I’m still trying to pick up the pieces, even though we split up nearly 2 years ago now…

S still says sex is not important, that it doesn’t matter and he doesn’t mind that I’m not ready. I just see it as me letting him down again and again. I am ashamed of myself for not being able to give him that, the one thing that he could get out of being with me (the way I see it anyway). 

I hate arguing with S. It makes me so sad. It hurts too much. We don’t argue much, but when we do it’s because of me being insecure, me over-thinking everything, me over-reacting. I want to stop. I want to be “normal”, whatever that is.

I wish I could have a normal relationship, where past memories don’t affect the present, where I’m not scared of being left behind, and where S doesn’t have to make all these allowances for me. He never complains, ever. He just takes it, he just puts up with all the crazy ways I react.

I know he loves me, I know I’m lucky to have him. He makes me happy, or happier than I’ve been in a long time anyway. So why don’t I let myself trust him? Why don’t I let myself believe the things he says? Why do I question his motives all the time? I just wish I could get over the past, then maybe I could live in the present. 

3 thoughts on “Strange happenings & arguments

  1. jthestudentnurse says:

    I too have found it difficult to put the past behind me and learn to trust people again. I think that it is wonderful you have found someone who has the patience to wait until you are ready. It seems like he is there waiting for you to heal and supporting you while you do. You DO deserve that support and patience. You are NOT letting him down by not having sex- you are showing respect for yourself and he is showing respect for you by not insisting on having sex. You are worthy of respect. I’ve never met you in person, but I’ve been reading your blog and honestly (because you deserve honesty too), I’m going to keep telling you that you are worthy of love, respect and happiness until it sinks in.

    I am also going to point you to Laci Green on YouTube http://www.youtube.com/user/lacigreen if you haven’t found her already. She speaks a lot of sense and is very empowering on all things relationship related.

  2. behindthemaskofabuse says:

    It’s because your brain doesn’t realize the difference, it doesn’t know the trauma is in the past yet. What you’re describing is all part of what I deal with, with C-PTSD. Don’t be too hard on yourself. xo

  3. scienerf says:

    It’s a hard one to get over and no mistake, it takes time to realise that this time it’s different, that the brain washing that’s happened to you in the past doesn’t really apply to your present…you’ll get there and with someone so obviously patient as S it sounds like your in good hands. Tackle those negative thoughts and as hard as it is those memories so that you can put them behind you…I’m working on it at the moment and it’s hard but when you manage it…it does help.
    Sending lots of positive energy and (((hugs))) your way xox

Leave a Reply :)

