Overgeneralisation

Overgeneralisation – You see a single negative event as a never ending pattern on defeat. Phrases like “you always” or “you never” exemplify overgeneralisation.

I’m guilty of this one too…

Things never go right, things like this always happen to me…

My work is never good enough.

The list goes on.

This is a tricky one to get out of. When a negative event happens, it is hard to see anything else, and much easier to generalise that situation to everything! Definitely not beneficial for my health to do this though!

9 thoughts on “Overgeneralisation

  1. scienerf says:

    Check. I have a funny feeling as when I was doing CBT last time I’ll be with you on nearly every one of these distortions. Though this one…I am managing to still tackle a lot of the time (see didn’t over generalise! lol) xox

Leave a Reply :)

