Mental Filter

Mental Filter – You pick out a single negative detail in and obsess on it so that your vision of all reality becomes darkened, like the drop of ink that discolours an entire glass of water.

This is the third out of thirteen cognitive distortions, and so far I’ve got a full house – I do them all.

This one is one I do A LOT. It takes one tiny negative detail, and that’s it – everything’s awful, I’m a failure and I may as well give up…

For example, one day I got 3 exam results back. 2 of them were As (1sts) and one was a C (2:2). This ruined my entire day. I was obsessed with that one grade that didn’t go so well. It wasn’t even that bad – I passed. But even now when I think about it, I didn’t even think about the As, all I cared about was that one thing that didn’t turn out the way I wanted.

This often happens. I can have a good day, or an ok day, and then one little thing happens, and BAM – it was an awful day. I hate myself, I hate my life, I hate everything. I don’t know why I bother. I want to give up… etc etc..

This is a very hard one. Once something starts to colour your view of something, it’s very hard to change it back. Like the ink that discolours the whole glass of water – once it’s done, it’s done.

This one needs to be caught in the moment, before it does any damage. But I’m sure that’s easier said than done!

Let’s hope that the CBT can help with some of these! My next session is tomorrow at early o’clock!

5 thoughts on “Mental Filter

Leave a Reply :)

