Things that go “arghhh” in the night

Over the last week, I have been told that I’ve been screaming in my sleep.

The first one was last Monday. Apparently my housemate (Mr Map) came in, had a full conversation with me, and I was crying, and then when he left I stopped crying after a while and went back to sleep. I have no recollection of this at all… Very strange.

The second one was on Saturday. I must’ve screamed in my sleep, because the next thing I knew, I was in that state of half awake, half asleep and I thought there was a man standing next to me. Just as I properly awakened, Mr Map came in and asked what was wrong. Again, I had screamed and had no recollection of this. The only difference is that this time I woke up and do remember the conversation.

And the third time was last night. Apparently at about 4am I screamed 3 times (according to one of my housemates – Shopaholic). Again – no recollection of this, and I didn’t wake up after it.

It’s all very strange! It has only happened twice before – last year at uni, and both times within a week. But both of those times I woke up screaming, so I knew I had screamed. This week I don’t remember any of them!

I don’t really know what is going on… Any ideas? Could it be because I’ve come off my medication?

Will definitely be mentioning this to the doctor on Thursday!

15 thoughts on “Things that go “arghhh” in the night

  1. Bourbon says:

    Do you remember any of your dreams? Well, it sounds like they were probably nightmares 😦 You’ve been super stressed recently and it seems like that’s affecting your sleep 😦 xx

  2. Juliet says:

    I think I do this too – but as I live alone, there are no witnesses. I sometimes wake up in a panic and my throat feels weird and tight and sore – just like I was about to scream or had been screaming some. But I never really know if it really happened or if this is just a delusion…. but looking at the other comments, you’re not alone in this. I know that’s a weak comfort…. safe hugs xx

  3. WeeGee says:

    I do this – but i’ve done it since I was about seven. I’ve concluded it’s just the way I sleep. If it’s new, mention it to the doctors xoxoxoxo

  4. Jasmine says:

    I would have assumed nightmares?? Maybe ones that you don’t remember once you’ve woken. I know sometimes when my dreams get disturbing I wake with a bit of an odd-sounding scream, not a full-blown one but maybe a half-arsed wail 😉

Leave a Reply :)

