CBT – week 1

So I’ve finally got round to writing about the CBT which started on Monday.

I’ve decided I’m going to create a page on my blog which will have all my posts about CBT on, in case anyone is interested!

So, let’s start from the beginning.

For those who don’t know, CBT stands for Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, and Mind says:

  • CBT is a form of talking therapy that combines cognitive therapy and behaviour therapy.
  • It focuses on your thoughts, images, beliefs and attitudes (your cognitive processes) – and how this impacts on the way you behave and deal with emotional problems.

The point of CBT is to become aware of your thoughts, feelings and behaviours and how they interlink, and then change negative thought patterns, which will in turn change feelings and behaviours.

CBT is a therapy which is used for many conditions, including depression, anxiety, anger, drug/alcohol problems, eating problems, phobias, post traumatic stress disorder and many more.

So, now we know what it is, I’ll write about my first proper session.

~ ~ ~

I arrived at the hospital and signed in. My appointment was at 9am so they were running on time!

We sat down and the therapist (A) asked how I had been etc.

For “homework” I had been asked to create a timeline of my life. I did this, and we went through it chronologically, looking at different life events and how they have affected me and my life, and how I have come to be where I am now in life (needing CBT).

What I thought was nice was that A said she isn’t going to look at my CBT book. So I can write in it, and tell her about it, but I don’t have to worry that anyone else is going to read it – because they aren’t.

So I guided her through my life, quite quickly, but stopping at particular events.

She wrote down some things to come back to, for example my relationship with the ex.

She said that in future sessions will can individually speak about each issue and try to work through it. This seems very logical, but is not an approach that the counsellors I saw last year took. They seemed to try to deal with everything at once, which just meant that nothing got dealt with!

This week for homework I had to identify and write down negative/difficult thoughts which I have.

Here’s what I’ve found this week:

  • I needed an extension for coursework so I must be a failure/useless
  • I should just give up and go home
  • Didn’t go to the gym, so I am useless/lazy/fat/ugly
  • I didn’t go out when everyone else did, so I must be boring
  • No one cares about me
  • I don’t have (m)any real friends here
  • I must be really boring/horrible if people would rather go home/be by themselves than be with me.

 

4 thoughts on “CBT – week 1

  1. artyelf says:

    Thanks for sharing this therapy here, it’s really interesting to see how others work in therapy.
    I have always thought CBT is the best therapy I have ever undertaken. You actually see the results, and it makes you be more mindful, and gives you clear tools to work with. I really hope you find benefits from it.
    I hope this isn’t presumptuous of me, but I see you as a friend here, so I hope this counters one of those negative thoughts a little.
    ♡♥♡

    • anxiouselephant says:

      I’m glad you found CBT helpful, hopefully I will too! And thank you – I see you as a friend too. I know that a lot of my negative thoughts are not entirely true, but I am trying to learn to not let them take over! Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply :)

