When is it a crisis?

The NHS have “crisis teams” which you can call/go and see if you are having a crisis.

But what is a crisis?

My doctor once said if things get any worse I should call them.

How are you meant to know whether you should call or not?

I don’t want to waste their time. Even at my lowest points, all I could think was: This is not a crisis. There are people who need the help more than me. I’d just be wasting their time. They would be angry with me for wasting their time. I’m not worth their help anyway. And what could they possibly do to help??

So I didn’t call them.

This all got me thinking, what is a crisis? What are the NHS Crisis teams for?

So I consulted Mind’s website – http://www.mind.org.uk/mental_health_a-z/8038_the_mind_guide_to_crisis_services

And this is what it says about crises:

Mental health crises include:

  • suicidal behaviour or intention
  • panic attacks/extreme anxiety
  • psychotic episodes (loss of sense of reality, hallucinations, hearing voices)
  • other behaviour that seems out of control or irrational and that is likely to endanger yourself or others.

And who can help in a crisis?

Crisis Resolution and Home Treatment (CRHT) teams

  • usually includes a psychiatrist, mental health nurses, social workers and support workers.

Community Mental Health Teams (CMHTs) are teams of mental health professionals who support people with ongoing mental health problems living in the community.

~ ~ ~

But this still doesn’t really answer my question: When is a crisis a crisis?!

20 thoughts on “When is it a crisis?

  1. Jasmine says:

    I think it is a crisis when you feel you are in crisis. And you don’t have to think the words “I am in crisis” to feel that you are. If you are feeling desperate, if you feel you can’t go on, if you are crying out for help but don’t know where to find it… that is a crisis.

    I think if you feel up to it, you have every reason to call them xxx

  2. Juliet says:

    A crisis is a crisis when you’re too scared to ask for help (for whatever reasons) plus suicidal ideation – and you’re in it (imo). Trying wouldn’t hurt right? They wouldn’t bite you. Safe hugs xxx

  3. Bourbon says:

    For me crisis is when I can’t sit in my own skin without knowing I may do something unhealthy. Someone once said to me once: “don’t wait till you’re drowning to ask for help; ask for help to swim”. Have you ever used the crisis team before? xox

    • anxiouselephant says:

      That is probably a good thing to take into account, I always felt like I couldn’t ask for emergency help unless it was an emergency, but I guess it’s better to prevent the emergency. No I haven’t. I don’t know what they do or where they are or how I would contact them. Do you know about them? (If you don’t mind me asking) xxx

      • Bourbon says:

        Yes I’ve been in touch with the crisis team many a time – not so much anymore because I am lucky to have daily contact with Cat. It MAY differ between counties, but I doubt it would too much. Here, they are based at the local A&E. You ring up the generic hospital number and ask for “psych liason” or “crisis team” and they put you through to the switch board. They are available at anytime. During the night at least one doctor is on call and one or two social workers/psych nurses/occupational therapists – whatever. They can talk to you on the phone to try and ascertain what will help you at that moment in time, or you can literally go down to A&E and speak to someone face to face. They can prescribe some emergency medication if needed, like one dose of diazepam or a sleeping tablet, if you talk together and believe it may be necessary. Also, if things are assessed as very at risk they can arrange for the “home treatment team” to start contacting you/visiting you on a daily basis. A check in that you are okay, not in immediate danger, that sort of stuff. It is a daunting prospect calling them, especially if you haven’t done so before, because there is no continuity, you never know who is going to be on duty. Does that answer your question about them? xx

      • anxiouselephant says:

        Thanks Bourbon. That does answer my question yes, I just didn’t really know much about them. I am going to find out how to contact them here, just in case I need them. Hugs xxx

  4. Hellosailor says:

    When I used the crisis team on whatever day it was it was my first time and I was feeling particularly vulnerable, but I’m not sure what prompted my decision, because normally I wouldn’t ask for help and it didn’t feel real anyway. I think it’s because I felt so completely alone.
    Perhaps we should call the crisis out for each other? We can;t recognise our own crisis, but we can recognise others, so we can ask each other if it is a crisis team situation or not?? xox

Leave a Reply :)

