Daily Prompt: 32 Flavours*

I’m going to write about ice cream. That’s a weird thing to write about but I saw today’s daily prompt, and it said “Vanilla, chocolate, or something else entirely?” which unsurprisingly reminded me of ice cream!

When it comes to ice cream I am strange… I don’t like vanilla ice cream. 

Chocolate ice cream, mango, berries, strawberry, toffee, honeycomb, coconut, lemon, raspberry, jelly bear**… The list goes on of ice creams that I adore, but not plain old vanilla ice cream – no thank you.

I think it’s because it is very plain, but I have never liked vanilla ice cream.

When I was younger, I remember my mum’s friend saying that it was strange that I don’t like vanilla ice cream… I thought “That’s a bit rich coming from you, seeing as your daughter doesn’t like chocolate!!”

It’s funny how these memories stay with you… That girl (who doesn’t like chocolate) is my life-long friend. We met up the other day, and despite not seeing each other for ages before that, it was like we had never been apart. Our parents met in hospital when we were born; our birthdays are only about 3 hours apart, however we were not born on the same day!

So that’s my little story about vanilla icecream,

Lots of love,

Ellie.

P.S. Ben and Jerry’s phish food ice cream is my favourite*** ice cream ever!!! (Damn, I want some now!)

*Because I am English, so “flavour” has a “U” in it! 

** An ice cream shop near me (which has now shut down) did this ice cream, it was amazing!

**Favourite also features a “U”

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: 32 Flavours*

  1. Jasmine says:

    Haha, I love this!!!

    For the record:

    – I like vanilla-flavoured things, but not vanilla ice-cream. It is boring.

    – some of my friends’ parents would accuse me of being fussy when I was a kid because the foods I didn’t like were ‘unusual’ (I don’t like butter, for example… although now I’m older I love cooking with it). I was not fussy. I ate a hell of a lot more foods than most kids (including veg).

    – Ben & Jerry’s cookie dough ftw 🙂

Leave a Reply :)

