There is hope!*

I don’t know if I believe in God**, or fate or anything that means control is not our own, but sometimes I start to think there must be something that means things turn out right. Whether it’s God, Gods, fate or some other intervention, somehow help has come to me at the perfect time.

Recently I have been feeling extremely low. I have been feeling completely hopeless, and ready to give up. I have been constantly crying and unable to go about my daily life – including missing some uni, and definitely not doing enough work.

Yesterday I had a voicemail from the NHS about making an appointment. When I rang back, no one seemed to know anything about it, and I was told someone would ring me later.

They did, and it was bad news. The woman said that I am on the waiting list for CBT counselling, but it will probably be at least February until I can see someone. All my hopes were in tatters. Emotionally and physically drained, this was not the news I had been hoping for.

But…

Today the woman who left a voicemail rang back, and this time I was there to answer. She gave me some different and exciting news…

I will be going to have an assessment session with her NEXT WEEK, with a view to starting CBT straight after the Christmas Holidays.

This is just the news I needed to keep going for these last 2 weeks of term. I am not sure whether CBT will help me, so I’m trying not to get my hopes up too much, but at least SOMETHING is happening (at last!)

So despite the fact that I’ve stayed home from uni today because I was feeling so awful this morning (mentally), AND the fact that I’ve got a migraine, a cold and am aching, I’m feeling a lot more hopeful than I have been recently.

I’ll keep you updated 🙂

*As a certain someone always says 😉

**I hope this is not offensive. I want to believe in God, and I would like to restore my faith, things like this do help.

12 thoughts on “There is hope!*

  1. Jiltaroo says:

    I think you must be my doppelganger at the moment. I have been struggling lately too. Soooo tired and no motivation. However, I have just been offered a job (great news). The thing is, if nothing changes, nothing changes! You knowing that the assessment is coming and CBT is after the hols, means that the potential for change is on the horizon. This in itself can give us a mini boost. Lots of love Jen

Leave a Reply :)

