That sinking feeling

I’m getting that sinking feeling,

Not yet, please not yet,

I haven’t finished enjoying the world,

I haven’t finished participating,

I haven’t finished feeling like I can do this,

I haven’t taken it all in.

~    ~    ~

I’m getting that sinking feeling,

The one where everything feels unstable,

Like I’m dangling from a cliff,

And the rope is about to snap,

Then I’ll fall down,

down,

down.

down,

down…

~    ~    ~

I’m getting that sinking feeling,

But I’m not done with smiling,

I’m not done with feeling good,

Give me more time, I’m begging you,

I don’t want to fall,

Not again,

~    ~   ~

Because what if I can’t get up again?

9 thoughts on “That sinking feeling

Leave a Reply :)

