More drugs, you say?

I went to the doctors this morning (it really is like a second home for me!) and spoke to my doctor about the medication I’m currently taking, and how the side effects are horrible and I don’t think it’s working – in fact, if anything it’s making me feel worse!

So, here we go again…come off this medication, and start on a new one! This is going to be the 5th anti-depressant I have tried, however I am hopeful that as this is in a different “family”, it may work better than the previous 4…

In case you’re wondering, here’s the list of my tried medications (so far):

1. Citalopram

2. Fluoxotine

3. Sertraline

4. Venlafaxine

5. Mirtazapine (The new one!)

Wow that would be a mouthful to say!!

So now…I wait!

20 thoughts on “More drugs, you say?

  1. Bourbon says:

    I’m sorry it’s becoming a bit of a mission to find a tablet that works for you. Once you get there though and find that tablet it will all be worth it. Hang tight! xx

    • anxiouselephant says:

      Thanks 🙂 I hope it will help, but if it doesn’t, I’ll be back at the doctors until they find one that does! (I seem to live there!) Unfortunately my doctor is about to leave (maternity leave) so I’ll have to find another good one (again!)

  2. JuliesMum says:

    My daughter found mirtazapine worked for her, where the others didn’t. Yes, it does make you a bit sleepy – she takes it not long before bed. It’s become a very popular antidepressant on her ward.

  3. wellcallmecrazy says:

    I urge you to be an informed consumer and do your own research as to the benefits and risks of this med. Be sure to check out studies that detail the LONG TERM USE effects as most of the info packaged with the meds at the pharmacy only give you the impact possibilities of taking the drug for six months or less. Best wishes to you. Keep on going.

Leave a Reply :)

