Mouse in the house!!

So there I was, sitting in my room, minding my own business, watching Sydney White (a film based on Snow White – It seems quite good so far!) when suddenly there’s a knock on my door.

“Hello?” I said, and the door opened, it was A (footballer’s boyfriend.) This was not surprising as we were the only two in the house!

“There’s a mouse in the house!” he said. So we went downstairs to look for it. Lifted up the sofas, chairs, peering underneath the fireplace… We saw it a couple of times but it ran so fast! It’s a field mouse, so it is TINY! After a bit it seemed to have disappeared through a hole behind the fireplace, so I retreated back to my room, my film and my bed.

Then a bit later, there was a shout from downstairs “the mouse is back!” Sp  So I went back downstairs, and helped A try to find this mouse! Everytime we saw him, he ran under a different piece of furniture, round and round the room. It must’ve looked hilarious if anyone was watching. A and I sat watching, waiting for the mouse to come out. A lifted the sofa, I let out a little scream, we didn’t catch the mouse.

After a while of this we realised two things. Firstly, there was no chance that we were going to catch that mouse, and secondly, even if we did manage to catch it – what would we do with it?! So we’ve left it, for now. If it becomes a regular sighting, I guess we’ll have to tell the landlord, but we don’t want to kill him – he’s cute!

We have named him (well, it is me – what did you expect!) My dad suggested Jerry (as in Tom and) but A and I thought that was wayyy too predictable. He is now named Albert the house mouse!

~

On a different note, I want to thank everyone who has shown their support. I am going through a rough time at the moment, and having amazing bloggy friends like you really does make a difference. I want to reassure you all that I am fine. Well not fine, but I will be, and none of you need to worry. Although I am still feeling low, I am not in such a dark place today, and I will definitely be seeing the doctor this week. I’ll keep you all updated.

Tonight I am having a quiet night in (or was until the mouse incident!) and everyone else in my house is out (A has gone out now too) so I am watching films, have skyped my parents, doing a bit of wordpress reading and writing, and am hoping for a decent night’s sleep – then maybe tomorrow will bring a better day!

9 thoughts on “Mouse in the house!!

    • anxiouselephant says:

      I think we’ll just leave him there for now 🙂 It was funny because A is scared of mice, so everytime it moved, we both shrieked! The poor thing must’ve been terrified!

      • reflectionsonlifethusfar says:

        LOL, wonder what’s worse: a cat or two shrieking people? 😉 The mouse lives another day 🙂

  1. truthsparked says:

    I’m weird….I’d be honored the mouse chose MY house! LOL I had one that lived in my closet when I was a kid, I missed him/her after we moved. I’m glad your feeling a bit better, Ellie…hope you feel even more better tomorrow! Celena

Leave a Reply :)

