Writing prompt challenge – 7 (Take 2)

Yesterday I did the writing prompt 7 – What sets you apart from the crowd, but it ended up very negative and with me feeling that I’m incredibly boring and not special at all…

So, I’m going to try again… this time from a more positive light!! Here goes:

When I did this post yesterday, I tried to think of that ONE THING that sets me apart. If you’ve read that post, you’ll know that I came to the conclusion that there is nothing that makes me special.

After posting it, I was happily surprised by a number of comments telling me that I was being too hard on myself, that I do have special things about me… So I’m trying again, and last night, after reading those comments I discovered something…

There isn’t ONE THING that sets me apart from the crowd. However, it’s all the little things that make me different. There are parts of who I am that are “normal”, and parts that are very abnormal, so this is going to be a post about what makes me, me.

I am a caring person, sometimes this can be a negative thing (such as giving ex too many chances, or having people walk all over me) but generally this is a nice trait to have. I find it easy to make friends because of this, and I enjoy looking after people, cheering them up, being there for them.

I am quite strange. I like naming inanimate objects (Bob, Steve, Matilda), and I have an unhealthy obsession with Eastenders and Elephants. I spend way too long on my laptop every day, reading and writing blogs, but that’s what I like doing. I love reading about other people’s lives, and trying to help where I can by leaving comments. Then there’s writing, that’s what I really like doing. There’s not that much that I have a genuine interest in at the moment (blame the depression!) but writing is still something I enjoy. I’m not going to pretend to be a good writer, but hey – I like it, so I’m going to do it!

I am the only (or possibly 1 of 2) student in my year at my university studying the course I do. It’s a weird combination, which never fails to get the response “Oh…that’s unusual” when people ask what I’m studying. But I don’t care, it’s what I want to do. I like languages, and I like Psychology.

I am a Cub leader (when I’m at home, although I might try and find a group up here too) and even though I sometimes get anxious about speaking in front of the kids, I enjoy it, because it makes the kids happy. They love cubs and all the activities we do there, and making people happy makes me happy.

I want to be a psychologist because I want to help people. People like me with depression and anxiety, and people with other mental health illnesses. So maybe, what sets me apart is that I’m a helping person… most of the stuff I enjoy revolves around helping people.

Then there’s physical difference. I am incredibly short for my age. I always have been the smallest in my class, even in nursery I think! I am 4 ft 11 and 3/4, so (as my boyfriend says) “pretty much as close to 5 ft as possible, without being 5 ft.” Being this short draws a lot of teasing about my height, and a lot of surprised people when they discover that I am in fact 19, rather than about 14. Embarrassingly, my brother (who is 13) is now taller than me… I used to hate being small, after being teased/bullied about it for a large portion of my school life, but now I don’t care anymore. I can wear heals, and I’m still not as tall as my boyfriend, and I’ll never ever have trouble finding a guy taller than me! (Also, it’s handy for hide and seek.)

I like running, something that a lot of people HATE. I have to admit, I haven’t been running much recently, I’ve been feeling too exhausted all the time, but I want to get back into it.

So there we have it, all of this stuff makes me, me. And that’s what sets me apart from the crowd.

(Wow, writing this has put me in a much better mood! I guess I need to focus on the positives rather than the negatives!)

17 thoughts on “Writing prompt challenge – 7 (Take 2)

  1. manicjenn says:

    Good for you!! I avoid talking about the good stuff about myself, too. Sometimes I realize that I’ve even forgot some of the cool things that I’ve done in my past that should define me more than the negative stuff that alway seems to be lying at the surface. I’m inspired today! Thank you.

  2. jiltaroo says:

    You sound very similar to me…except that I am taller! I struggle with depression as well, love helping people and find it very difficult to list anything great about myself. I am hopping to start a nursing degree next year so that I can tap into that side of myself to a greater degree. As for your subject choices, I think they make a lot of sense….isn’t psychology like the language of the mind? I bet that your assignments are far better and more thoroughly researched than the average student and that when you have that degree, you will be amazing at what you do (as long as you promise yourself not to take it home with you). Lots of love Jen. p.s. I haven’t read the previous attempt yet.

    • anxiouselephant says:

      Thanks Jen ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s nice to “meet” a similar person! The nursing degree sounds like a great idea if you like helping people!! (I am terrified of blood so it wouldn’t be a good idea for me!) I’ve never thought of it like that before (language of the mind) but I guess you’re right – that’s my new explanation! haha xx

  3. buckwheatsrisk says:

    there you go bring it girl! hey if it makes you feel any better, i’m 5 feet and my Hubby is 6 foot 8 …you should see the looks we get…i actually enjoy them and get quite a giggle…sometimes people stare so hard, that they don’t even realize i’m staring at them as they stare at us, and when they do….well it’s so funny how they react!

  4. truthsparked says:

    Good for you, Ellie. I’m glad you were able to find these special things. But I think you forgot bravery. I’ve been reading and you sound like a fighter to me. At least for what’s important. By the way, I’m 5 foot 9 and 1/4. Is it me, or are men getting shorter?? LOL!

  5. Brandon Bored says:

    I’m pleased that you are able to reflect on yourself in such a positive way. That is precisely what sets you apart from everyone else YOU! ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s easy to look for only one thing but, each of us has so much to offer collectively.

Leave a Reply :)

