Writing prompt challenge – 7

Day 7 —What sets you apart from the crowd?

I am sitting here, wanting to write one of these posts. Today number 7 came up. This is a hard one, but here goes.

I don’t think I’m special. I don’t think I’m unique, there’s nothing about me that makes me different. Many people have particular skills or personalities or hobbies that make them different. All my life, I’ve never had anything that was just “my thing”, I’ve never been unique.

One of my friends (Monkey) seems to have many things that set her apart: she is fantastic at art, incredibly intelligent academically, she does various types of dance (tap, ballet, maybe others.) We both used to play the clarinet when we were at school together, she was better. I was in her art class, she was better. In academic subjects, she always got the grades just a little bit above mine. I was always just a little behind her, in everything.

The other best friend I had in secondary school (we’ll call her piglet) was also incredibly academic, leaving me left behind. She also plays the violin to a high standard, and is very good at badminton.

My friend Cambridge, who is (perhaps obviously) studying at Cambridge University has a gift for music (grade 8 violin with distinction) and languages (she did Spanish, French and Italian A levels, and is studying Spanish and Italian at uni, and about to pick up Catalan!)

My boyfriend’s “thing” is rock climbing, he loves it. He is very passionate about it, and he climbs usually at least twice a week, sometimes more. Recently he spent two weeks climbing in Greece, and he loved every minute!

A few days ago he said something to me that stuck in my mind. He said “what are you really passionate about?” I couldn’t answer. There is nothing in my life that is “my thing.” I don’t seem to have a passion for anything. Not anymore.

Footballer has football (obviously!) Artist has…art! Panda has scuba diving… Kittens has drama/acting… everyone seems to have something, except me.

I have always achieved well. Never exceedingly amazing at anything though. I used to play clarinet, but I was rubbish. I get good grades, but never the best. I like to write, but it’s no good. I am learning German, but I am far from fluent, and Sheep will always be better. I am a Cub leader, but that is not unusual either – Monkey is a Brownie leader, several of my friends are Cub/Beaver leaders, and besides I’m barely ever there as I’m in Lancaster in term time, so I can’t call myself a proper Cub leader. I don’t have my own thing. I want my own thing.

This post was supposed to be what sets me apart. I think it was supposed to be a positive, uplifting post about what makes me different, what makes me special, what sets me apart from everyone else. Well, I guess I found it… What sets me apart is that I don’t have anything special about me.

Edit: I have now done this prompt again, from a positive point of view! You can read it here!

13 thoughts on “Writing prompt challenge – 7

  1. Bourbon says:

    I BEG TO DIFFER!!! There are a gazillion trillion badillion blogs here on wordpress right? How come people flock to yours? How come I can’t see one of your posts drop into my “new posts” folder without having to look at it straight away? Because you are a genuinely lovely person with a huge heart, a great deal of empathy, a caring and warm personality. Now THIS sets you apart from everyone else. And the thing about this is it isn’t a skill, it is just who you are. What sets you apart from everyone else and makes you special? You. You are you. That is all you ever need to be to be special. xx

    • anxiouselephant says:

      Thank you Bourbon. This is a problem I have, I have always measured my success by skill/academic stuff, and it’s hard to get out of. Your comment really made me smile, it really means a lot to have your support! I just sometimes wish I had something I could call “my thing”, if you get what I mean xx

      • Bourbon says:

        Yes, I do. I am like you. I had always been “average” at school across a range of things. I had nothing that I particularly excelled at. And I never was able to battle the anxiety enough to do extra-curricular activities so I too would have huge issues answering that question xx

  2. aallegoric says:

    I was about to say something very similar 😉 You are special in your own way – and that is what sets you apart from the crowd!
    There are always people that are smarter or better at something… it’s natural (and doesn’t really matter). In the end, it’s all about personality and not skills.
    And yup, you are a very caring and lovely person – come on, how many posts have read and commented on today? 300? 😉 It just shows how caring you are.
    I don’t know how everyone else was feeling about your absence, but I did miss you xx

    • anxiouselephant says:

      Thank you, that’s a really lovely thing to say! I missed everyone here too, I hope I’m not away from the internet for a while again!! Maybe I will do a revised version of this post tomorrow (which is more positive and less negative!) xx

  3. buckwheatsrisk says:

    oh my goodness you were so hard on yourself in this post. you compared yourself to everyone else and put yourself down. for one thing you are a great writer, it’s not rubbish at all..i’m guessing you do have more than one thing that sets you apart but you can’t see, it.
    losta love xo

Leave a Reply :)

