Thanks to a lovely man called Rob

I am back!! (yay!)

Today, at 12pm I rang the people who manage problems etc at my new house in Lancaster to tell them my internet wasn’t working, and that the microwave wasn’t working. By 12:10, a man called Rob (from IT) had phoned me, and was talking me through how to fix the internet. And by 12:20, I had internet!! So today, I am thankful for a lovely man called Rob, who knows about internet!!

(It turned out this wasn’t my fault/me being stupid, but was the landlord’s fault, and a problem which recurred each year. On the router it says “Please do not unplug or remove this router.” And, every year, the land lord unplugs the router and moves it! Long story short, it now works! Yay Rob!!)

So anyway, I shall do an update on life, the universe and everything… (The answer is 42, by the way.*)

On Wednesday I had my trip to Birmingham to go and see Michael McIntyre. I had a really nice day out with my boyfriend, Monkey and her boyfriend. We went shopping, and then went for dinner and cocktails in a pub, before going to the NIA to see Michael McIntyre himself. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so much in my whole life! (I actually felt sick from laughing so much, and my face ached at the end – so worth it though!!)

Then me and my boyfriend got the train back to London, and the nightbus back home. It was a long journey, slipping in and out of sleep on the train, and trying to stay awake on the night bus. On the train I overheard a couple of guys (who were drinking copious amounts of beer) having a strange conversation. At one point, one man said to the other “If you had to lose one of your senses, which one would it be?” Fairly deep for a drunken conversation, I thought!! (Although I didn’t actually hear the answer from the 2nd man.)

So, which would it be? If you had to lose one of your senses?

When we got back it was about 2:30am, and my boyfriend was allowed to stay round (he’s not usually), so we had lots of lovely cuddles, which was nice as I was going to leave the next day!

On Thursday, I had my appointment with the psychiatrist. I am going to write about it properly later. Afterwards, I went for breakfast with my boyfriend and cheese**. We had pancakes at Wetherspoons (I would recommend these if you ever get the chance!) I had mine with maple syrup and bacon… sounds strange, but an AMAZING combination!!

Then it was full steam ahead on packing! I didn’t know I owned this much stuff! And although I tried to bring less stuff than last year, I am now sitting in my new room, completely surrounded by boxes, suitcases, bags and a ukulele. (To be fair, it is a very small room!)

On Thursday night I stayed at my Nannie’s house in the Midlands (about half way to Lancaster), it was really nice to see her, but sad at the same time. She has Alzheimer’s disease, and it is very sad to see her so different to how she used to be. We had the same conversations over and over again, and she had no recollection that we had already talked about these things.

On Friday, me and my mum said our goodbyes to my Nannie (my mum’s mum) and got back in the car to continue our journey up to The North. I am pleased to tell you that Steve*** made it up to Lancaster in one piece, in case anyone was worried about him! 😛

We arrived on campus to pick up keys to the new house, then went to the town hall to get a temporary parking permit. Sadly, this was not the five minute in – and – out that I was expecting, but took closer to an hour, sitting and waiting for my number to be called! We then went up to the house, and started bringing my ridiculous amount of stuff into the house. (I am the first out of my housemates to arrive, the others won’t be here until Tuesday/Wednesday.)

Later, we went out for dinner and had a wander around the city. I am glad to be back, I do love Lancaster – such a cute and pretty town. It is quite cold up here though, and I could see my breath as I talked – in September!!

On Saturday morning, I had to be on campus for 8am (this time does not usually exist to me, let alone getting up at 6:30!!) and started my day as a “Grizedale accommodation guide”. I basically spent the entire day explaining about the accommodation (which is where I lived last year) and telling everyone that Grizedale is the best college to be in! Gotta love college spirit!

I was very pleased with how the day went. I felt a bit unsure and nervous at the beginning, but within a short time I settled into the role, and actually quite enjoyed it! No anxiety in sight!! 😀 I felt a great sense of achievement at the end of the day, I had received only good comments about my accommodation tours, and one person even said “It was worth coming just to meet you,” which was lovely, even if it was a bit strange.

Back in my house yesterday evening, I was knackered. I couldn’t be bothered to cook anything properly, so I just made chicken instant noodles (I’m a real student!) and settled down to watch Bridget Jones’ Diary and Bridget Jones’ Diary 2! (I had no internet, so DVDs were the only option!)

I went to bed relatively early, seeing as I had nothing else to do, and I was tired, and actually slept pretty well! (Despite the trains outside my house, which are not actually too much of a problem.)

So now we’re back to today, and I have already explained what happened, so now… I’m back!

Today I’m planning to do a number of things:

1. Go into town to buy some cleaning supplies

2. Unpack (or at least start)

3. Catch up on reading the blogs I follow

4. Do one of the 30 days writing challenges

5. Start cleaning the house

6. Cook something proper for dinner

7. Skype the boyfriend, and possibly parents

8. Write about the appointment with the psychiatrist

Sorry about the length of this post, if you’ve got to the end thank you so much for reading my ramblings!

* 10 Ellie points if you get this reference!

** cheese is one of my friends who I used to work with. He is called cheese because he works on the cheese counter at work, however he doesn’t like cheese (much to my amusement!)

*** the orchid – of course!

 

17 thoughts on “Thanks to a lovely man called Rob

  1. buckwheatsrisk says:

    Now that was busy, I’m so glad you’re back and isn’t unbelievable how much stuff we have and don’t know it until we move?! I’m on my 4th move in two years and we have purged stuff every time and there’s still tons. now we have to start getting stuff again to fill our new home…ha! i really hope i won’t be moving for a long time again…all the best with where you are now!

      • buckwheatsrisk says:

        ha! i could easily go down that road if i allowed myself too as well as Hubby…afraid if i throw things out , that is just when i will need them. having to downsize three times with our living arrangements forced us to purge. we do however have a bunch of our stuff where at a friends place 13 hours away which Hubby will being going to pick up during this move and his three weeks off. who knows how much we will accumulate in our new house with way more space than we’ve had before…LOL
        thank you so much!

    • anxiouselephant says:

      I don’t really know. I was thinking about this. I can’t decide… so indecisive! Everytime I think, “oh maybe it would be…” I then remember something special that I wouldn’t be able to do. Hmm, can’t answer that question – sorry!! xx

  2. Jasmine says:

    And nobody has mentioned Hitchhikers Guide yet??
    Btw, if you love the Bridget Jones films I would definitely recommend the books. I got them for my 17th birthday and somewhere along the many moves I have had in my life, they have gone missing… I might buy them again someday, just to see them back in my bookcase

Leave a Reply :)

