Letter writing challenge – 22

Day 22 — Someone you want to give a second chance to

This one came up from my random number selection today. Bums. This will be hard to write. Initially I thought of my ex, but that wouldn’t be a second chance, that would be a thousandth chance, and besides – I don’t want to give him anymore chances. Then there’s Piglet – I suppose I would give her another chance, but we haven’t spoken in over a year (not through my choosing)

I’ve already given Kittens a second chance. We fell out big time a few years ago, but we’re now close friends again. So who would I want to give a second chance to? I know. Mollusc. I am giving her that second chance now, but that counts…right?

~ ~ ~ ~ ~~ ~ ~ ~ ~~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Dear Mollusc,

You really hurt me when you stopped being my friend. We used to be so close, we had Mollusc day together, and so many good laughs in German, Maths and English – and that’s just the in school stuff. You were at one point my closest friend at school. You were the first to know about ex before we were together, and yet you reacted so strangely when we (me and ex) finally got together properly.

I will never forget when I received an email from you, saying something along the lines of: it’s a shame because we’ve had some good times, but we can’t be friends anymore. I will be civil to you but that’s it.”

It really hurt Mollusc, more than you will know. Especially with S. doing it at the same time. Did you agree together that you’d stop being friends with me?

I know I did wrong too. I didn’t mean to abandon you, I was caught up with ex, and he was controlling, subtly at first. He made me feel bad if I didn’t spend time with him at break and lunch, he made me feel that I wasn’t allowed to meet up with you guys. I’m so sorry about that. I never wanted to hurt you, I never wanted to lose you as a friend. But it hurt that you did that. Especially by email…

I’m so glad we’ve sorted things out now. I remember when we were going to Cambridge’s birthday, I knew you were going, and I was terrified. We were going for a night out in London for her 18th birthday. I hadn’t seen you for nearly 2 years. No contact at all.

Then we spoke. At first it was a little awkward. Then you apologised. It meant so much to me, it really did. I apologised too, and pretty soon we were chatting away like none of it had happened.

We will never be as close as we used to be, but things are a lot better. There’s no strain anymore, and I hope we can build up a friendship again, because we get/got along so well, I always have a laugh when I’m with you.

I hope you’re enjoying your freshers week Mollusc, I think I’ll text you after this letter (that you’ll never read!). I hope I’m right in giving you a second chance, I’m fairly sure I am though. It was all a long time ago, we both made mistakes, and we’re over them now. (I hope so anyway.)

Lots of love,

your mollusc buddy xx

5 thoughts on “Letter writing challenge – 22

  1. jiltaroo says:

    It’s really hard on friendships when you are in a controlling relationship. I have just ended one myself (4 years). I now have some friendships to mend too. People I have neglected and miss having in my life. Jen xx

  2. aallegoric says:

    It’s so hard to give people a 2nd chance… So I admire people who can give or try to give 2nd chances and who can let go of past bad events.
    Very courageous and well done of you! xx

Leave a Reply :)

