Ellie’s List of Recommended Films

**Warning: The majority of this list consists of cheesy, rubbishy romantic comedies…which I love!**

Here are 10 of my favourite films, I’m sure I’ll have to create another post of favourite films because I will have missed some, but this is the 10 for now*:

1. Mean Girls

An absolute classic. Who doesn’t love this film starring Lindsay Lohan, before everything went wrong for her! Guaranteed to cheer me up, this one is one of my favourites. I have to admit that I do know a lot of the words to this film, I have seen it many many times!!

“Grool… I meant to say cool and then I started to say great. ”

2. 10 Things I Hate About You

Another great rom-com. Also, apparently based on Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew, so you can pretend it’s educational!

3. She’s the Man

While we’re on the subject of Shakespeare…this one was inspired by Twelth Night. It’s a funny one with a strong message: you can achieve what you want to/follow your dreams!

3. Yes Man!

This is a great one. Very motivational, and funny, AND it has a lovey-dovey happy ending… what more could you want?

4. Confessions of a shopoholic

I know a lot of people who love shopping (myself included) but this film makes me feel that my shopping habbits are acceptable. And of course includes the usual humour, love and happy ending.

5. Love Actually

Not going to lie, this one gets me emotional… I love the message of this film “Love is all around”, and anyway, who doesn’t love Christmas films? (all year long)

6. Despicable Me

minion from despicable me

This is SUCH A CUTE FILM! I love it, and I don’t care if it’s meant for children! This one isn’t actually a rom-com (SHOCK!) but it does have some of the cutest characters ever. Also… there’s going to be a despicable me 2 *dances* Unnaturally excited for this!!

Best line: “It’s so fluffy I’m gonna die!!”

7. Brave

Another Pixar film. This is a new one, I love the fact that there is now a Disney princess with a backbone and brain of her own!! I went to see this at the cinema with my boyfriend and I have to admit it made me jump in parts, and *whispers* I even felt some tears welling up at some points.

8. Harry Potter

Ok so that’s technically 8 films…but I love them all. The books are better, but the films are still pretty damn good! My favourite film is probably the 5th one – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, and Luna is my favourite character in the films…they just cast her so amazingly well!

9. Bridget Jones’ Diary

Both of them are pretty hilarious. These never fail to cheer me up, and if Bridget gets a happy ending, I’m sure we will too!

Favourite bit: “The man we call Mr…” *Titspervert…titspervert* “Fitzherbert… because that is his name”

10. Notting Hill

Notting Hill has got to be one of the best romantic comedies ever… such a lovely, happy ending, and as positively cheesy as it is… I still love it!

“I’m just a girl, standing in front of a boy…asking him to love her” ♥ *excited dancing* SO CUTE!!!

Ok, so I lied, there is more than 10…but I thought of one more after the initial 10 so you’ll have to forgive me!!

11. Just like heaven

I love this film, it is a journey of self discovery, and I love the gardens in the film. If you’ve read my post about things I want to do in my life, you’ll know I love the gardens in the film 🙂

 

what are your favourites??

* In no particular order

2 thoughts on “Ellie’s List of Recommended Films

  1. My Mental Stream says:

    In no particular order, films I can watch repeatedly:
    1. A Knights Tale
    2. Friends With Benefits
    3. The Proposal
    4. Star Trek (new one)
    5. History Boys
    6: Evolution
    7. Ironman
    8. Tropic Thunder
    9. Blade Trinity
    10 Underworld Evolution

    That was a hard list, there are so many more I could add!

Leave a Reply :)

