Treatment for mental health

This isn’t a poem

Why does it have to be this way?

What have I done to be punished like this?

I don’t understand this, it seems no one does,

They just send you to different places,

Different people,

Different medications,

Different therapies,

But what if,

After all of that is said and done,

What if I’m still not better?

*warning: rant alert!!*

Depression is an illness. Sadly, a diagnosis don’t make it easier to treat, unlike with many illnesses. Different people respond differently to different treatments, and different doctors favour different treatment options. Basically, like it or not, you become a human guinea pig, an experiment – a “case”.

When I am older, I really really want to try and help do something about this. Not just dealing with depression, but mental illneses in general. It doesn’t seem fair that just because our illnesses can seem invisible (on the surface), we don’t get proper treatment. I have learnt from personal experience, and from seeing other people’s treatment of mental illness that the area is still incredibly underrepresented, misunderstood and very very slow.

Imagine if you were to go to the doctors with the flu. They are not going to say “What you need is antibiotics, I’ll try this one and if it doesn’t work we’ll try something else”, and they are also not going to say “We’ll put you on the waiting list for a year for your treatment.” No, this would be ridiculous! But somehow, it’s different with mental health.

I know this isn’t fair; I know that resources are scarce, and that there are cuts all over the place. But I really feel that mental health is not something which can be (or should be) ignored.

4 thoughts on “Treatment for mental health

  1. Bourbon says:

    Hear hear. I think mental health is so quick to get cut because those with MH problems are still, unfortunately, seen socially as an under-cast. Society is trying so hard to change it but that stigma is still there. I don’t know if it’ll ever leave. I hope so. Sending you some hopeful thoughts x

Leave a Reply :)

