And they all lived happily ever after…

Published February 26, 2013 by anxiouselephant

“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there? - Daily Prompt

The short answer is no. No I am not living happily ever after, and I don’t know what it will take for me to get there.

The longer answer is that maybe one day I will be able to be happy. I do not believe that anyone has the perfect fairytale ending which the line “and they all lived happily ever after” reminds me of, but it is possible to be happy. Even when you have a “perfect” life, I don’t think anyone is happy all the time. There are always small things  to make us angry, upset or frustrated, and there are big life events which are enevitable, which will affect happiness for a long or short time.

When I look at my life, I know I should be happy. I shouldn’t be depressed and anxious, but I am, and that’s how it is (at least for now) so there’s no point in me saying “I should..”

In my life I hope that one day I will feel comfortable with myself, I will be able to be who I am and I will be surrounded by people who I care about and who care about me. I would like to smile real smiles, and answer honestly when people ask how I am. I want to be able to say “good” without lying.

So right now, I feel like I’m a long way away from living happily ever after, but there is good in my life. I am lucky that I have people who I care about and who care about me. So maybe sometimes it doesn’t feel like it (like last night) but at the end of the day maybe it doesn’t matter if not everyone cares, maybe I should focus on the people who do care and do matter.

Maybe happy ever after isn’t so far away after all?

19 comments on “And they all lived happily ever after…

  • I am living as happily as I can in this moment. Could it be better yes, but it could also be worse. I’m not sure that there is a “real” happy every after, life isn’t that easy..lol. Thank you for this post, I need to ponder this some more. xxx

  • You’re so right! There is no such thing as ‘happily ever after’ in the real world but we can make the most of what we have. Wishing and hoping for things to be other than they are won’t change anything, we have to work at it and ‘things’ never make us happy for long either.
    I’m glad you managed to come to a relatively happy conclusion on this, you know what sod the people who don’t care about you! They’re the ones missing out as anyone who knows and does care about will tell them :) xox

  • Many blessings to you Ellie. You’re right, there is no happily ever after in real life — only in fairy tales. But that doesn’t mean that we can’t find joy in what we do have. My prayer for you and for others who are unhappy is that you will one day know just how precious you are to your Creator. I pray that you will realize how much you mean to others. There may be people who have harmed you, but I am certain that there are others who genuinely love you just the way you are. I don’t pray for a fairy tale ending for you, because that’s just make believe. Instead, I pray that you will realize the truth about who you are, and your value to God and His children.

    Many blessings and much love to you,
    Cheryl

  • Leave a Reply :)

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 328 other followers

